White wine is brown

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Philly

Reaction score
I'm very new to this and this is the first time Ive made a white wine. Used a kit and followed the instructions, all my gear was sterilzed.

After 24 hours and the wine had turned from a black colour to brown. 10 days on and it's still brown.

Hydrometer says it's finished fermenting so I've added stabiliser and finings a and b about an hour ago now.

I'm just a bit worried about the colour. Is this normal? Will it change to a normal wine colour or is there something wrong?

This is my WineBuddy Sav blanc (white wine) on day 10. (still fermenting)

20140917_155044_0.jpg

20150228_192943.jpg

This is how the last one i made turned out. (picture posted by pookiehair - same kit)

attachment.php

So I shouldn't worry then? Your final product looks beautiful.

This is mine at the moment and roughly the colour it's been since day 2

rBPFKOi.jpg

That is a lot darker than mine, could you post the name of the kit others may have made it.

I wouldn't worry it'll clear in time, you didn't by any chance mix the fining sachet up with the dog food? :lol:

Haha no dog food in it although it looks like it.

The kit was a Cedar Gold Soave I got in Lakeland. 15 bottle kit.

Here are two DJ's of my red grape juice and apple juice wine, they turn from this colour to the colour in the bottle below, yours will be fine.

20140809_171344.jpg

c03371zf.jpg

Are you sure it isn't a red kit by mistake?

Interesting pressure barrel, not seen one like that before.

Is the wine still fermenting, as I guess that's an airlock on top.

Scaff

Are you sure it isn't a red kit by mistake?

Interesting pressure barrel, not seen one like that before.

Is the wine still fermenting, as I guess that's an airlock on top.

Scaff