Wilko Fermenter as Pressure barrel?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChrisW

Reaction score
Just what is says really. I bought on of the Wilko fermenting vessels like this one in a job lot second hand and I'm wondering if I can use it as a secondary fermentation pressure barrel.

The plastic is not as thick as my pressure barrel, and I'd need to make some kind of adaptor to plug the rubber bung hole with an S30 valve fitting.
I'm worried that the tap may not be up to it, or if others have tried it and no better than I do whether this is, or is not, worth doing.
I'm new to all this, and I welcome any thoughts you may have.

Thanks
Chris

Do Not Do This!!!

It will end up very messy.

But seriously...... Do Not Do This.
The fermenters are not pressure rated. At best, they will spring leaks. At worst, they may explode or the seams rip and you will have a lot of cleaning up to do. That is ignoring any damage that may be caused (to either you or the house) by the fermenter giving up when you pressurize it.

Do Not Do This!!!

It will end up very messy.

But seriously...... Do Not Do This.
The fermenters are not pressure rated. At best, they will spring leaks. At worst, they may explode or the seams rip and you will have a lot of cleaning up to do. That is ignoring any damage that may be caused (to either you or the house) by the fermenter giving up when you pressurize it.
Thanks for your take on this Pavros. I'd fit some kind of pressure relief valve - we only need enough pressure to push beer out of the tap. In fact, gravity will do that if I replace the volume of leaving beer with CO2. I'm seeing a weight on a lever which olds a rubber pad on a pipe to the interior. It would be easy to set the relief pressure by knowing the area of the pipe, the size of the weight and the mechanical advantage of the lever.