Wilko Sweet Newkie Brown

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Neil1454

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm completely new to home brewing. I've got a few questions if anyone can help me please?

Q1: I've been watching some videos on YouTube where DDoubleTap does his first brew.

His beer seemed to come out good but at no point does he explain why he uses 1KG of wilko brewing sugar and also 500g of Muntons Spray Malt Medium when it states on the Sweet Newkie Brown instructions it says...
Add Sugar or spray dried malt extract.
But he adds a bag of each (1kg and 500g)

Q2: Also on the instructions for the Sweet Newkie Brown. When bottling it mentioned about adding half of a teaspoon of sugar per pint (85g). What sort of sugar is this?

Q3: With all my kit been new and not sterilized yet. I've seen DDoubleTap use Milton sterilizing tablets.
For a first time sterilization is this a good idea to use these and then just brew without using any other sterilization ? If so, do I need to rinse everything after using the Milton or just empty and then start the brew?

Thank you.

Try this for background reading
https://www.thehomebrewforum.co.uk/...de-to-brewing-your-own-beer-from-a-kit.57526/
Then to answer your questions.
1. Homebrewers often juggle the recipes to suit their purposes. But if its your first brew I suggest you follow the instructions concerning what to add. However I would not use table sugar in quantity if it is suggested, but brewing sugar (dextrose), spray malt or liquid malt extract are fine.
2. Ordinary granulated table sugar is OK for priming. That's what I use.