WLP4000 Vermont Ale attenuation experiences?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

foxbat

Landlord.
Reaction score
I'm going to be brewing a session APA in a few weeks and was looking for any feedback anyone's got on the typical attenuation of this yeast because I've never used it before.

I'll be mashing at 66 and fermenting at 19C for 3 days then 20 to finish. The grist is nothing special, 95% extra pale malt and 5% torrified wheat. Beersmith tells me to expect 1.038 -> 1.006 for 83% attenuation.

I've seen the odd report on the internet about low attenuation and was wondering what other people had experienced. For some reason I usually seem to hit the high end of the manufacturer's range, possibly because I build starters and try to always get a good water profile and mash pH.

1.062 - 1.011 last time I used it. That was mashing at 67. The vial was a month out of date but I made a starter a bit bigger than I normally would to make up for it.

Oh, one of the batches (a tropical ipa) also had 250g white sugar in it. This was a 10ltr batch.

That would have helped with attenuation. Although the second brew didn't have any sugar in it at all.

I’m going to be repitching Vermont tomorrow as well. Will see how it goes second time around.

Liquid yeast bay Vermont just gets better the more times you repitch it. It hits a peak for flavour and attenuation at about generation 5 or 6.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

More IPAs on the way then! Have to say I wanted to drink the decanted spent wort from the slurry I’d kept. The pineapple aroma was amazing