Wobblygob - not fermenting and SG of 1.22(!)

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KevJ101

Reaction score
Hi there,

So I'm brand new to brewing (2nd batch). I started my wobblygob batch 7 days ago (just juice, yeast and water). There had been very little activity, no froth/airlock, so I measured the SG and it is 1.22. This seemed very high so I repeated and took 3-4 readings and always the same.

I should say, it's been quite warm - 26-27 degrees.

I gave it a big stir last night but this morning not much happening.

Any ideas if this is normal, and why should the SG be so high? Also, what should I do next?

Thanks in advance!

Kev

A gravity reading of 1.22 sounds unbelievably high, it would equate to almost 600g of sugar per litre.

26-27°C would be pretty hot for most yeasts, try moving to a cooler spot and observe whether any activity commences.

I would check whether the juice you used contained any preservatives, which could inhibit the yeast from working.

If the juice was pure, then I would be tempted to take another gravity reading and if hadn't changed, pitch another sachet of yeast and try to maintain a cooler temperature (18-22°C)

Thanks MmmBeer,

I did as you suggest, and it's now at a happy 20 degrees. I also ordered some more yeast (arriving tomorrow) but just checked and it's fizzing and lots of airlock activity too - so clearly doing something! The SG is now reading at 1.18 - still seems incredibly high. I tested the hydrometer in tap water and it shows 1.000 so that's good. Not sure if wobblygob use preservative, but I suspect the high temperature was stopping fermentation. I'm still baffled as to why the SG is so high - I didn't even add any sugar to the wobblygob juice. Am a little concerned I'm going to end up with super strength paint stripper and I was hoping for 4-5%.

Thanks again for your advice.

Kev