Woodfordes Nelsons Revenge Review

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
You need to check the specific gravity, but as you have had it at 26c, which is on the high side. 20c would have been better. But it probably finished.

brynwills said:
im a newbie here

ive had this kit on for 5 days now bubbled like crazy through airlock for 48 hours now nothing. its been in the airing cupboard which is around 26 degrees.

ive done a hydro reading which says ( presume) 1.010

would you say this is ready for keg - airlock not done anything for a day or so?

hhhheeeellllppppp

Airing cupboard at 26°C .... your fermentation probably happened at about 29°C and went through the process much too quickly, you might find you have off flavours. :electric: At 1010 your brew is ready for the next step. I would put it into secondary, not in the airing cupboard but somewhere much cooler, let's say 16°C, with finings, let it sit for a few days to go clear and then put it into the keg ... unless you are planning to bottle the brew. :hat:

PS forget the airing cupboard in the future, it's much too hot. An ambient temperature of 16° to 18° C is sufficient. :drink:

Well ive done it syphoned into keg with a small amount of water and sugar . Also filled two two litre bottles with sugar. Had a little taste test. Very cloudy and bittery hoping it will condition smoother but it is my first go. Any recommendations for my next brew?

after just a couple of days in the keg had to see how things were progressing, got a shot glass and poured. a very tiny head, still cloudy but not to such an extent the bitteryness has all but subsided very palatable looks the same colour as a boddingtons would this be the right colour?

My first brew doesnt taste like hb

What are your thoughts on the look of it after 16 days

IMG-20140408-WA0002.jpg

IMG-20140408-WA0004.jpg