Worried....no panicking....no HELP!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Petrolhead

Regular.
Reaction score
Well I’ve been brewing allsorts for about 18 months with no big problems but last night it looked like I had a stuck fermentation and it looked much the same tonight.

I’d decided that the best course of action was to pour in more yeast whilst shouting “Why me” loudly with various expletives.

Then the answer came in a flash of inspiration........ ask the guys on the forum before you do anything stupid. So here goes:

On Friday I did an 11 litre imperial stout from an ag kit bought from a reputable supplier using Mangrove Jacks yeast. Stuck it in my fv which has served me well, no co2 leaks, for all 18 months and shook well to aerate before putting in my brewfridge at 21 degrees.

It took a good day and a bit to get started but by Sunday lunchtime it was going like a steam train. I looked again last night and no action with water evenly filling the airlock, gave it a shake and left until tonight where again there was no sign of life.

I have given it an almighty great shake and come in to post this sad tail :)

Fortunately, I did take some gravity readings which believe it or not I have successfully avoided since the start as I’m happy whatever the strength. Perhaps now a lesson learnt.

When it went into the fv it was 107? And should have been 108? but was a little over volume possibly 12.5 rather than 11 litres. Yesterday it was 1048 istr and tonight 1042 but I used a cheap but zeroed refractometer so I doubt this is showing a fall. FV may be leaking but it hasn’t in the past.

So any thoughts or advice please.

Fermenting vessels especially plastic can warp over time, rendering the lid non air tight. I'd give it 2 more days, check the gravity again. Which Mangrove yeast incidently?