Loon Juice

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fizzy

Reaction score
Hello all.

I'm new to this game and today have bottled my first brew, just doing the extract shuffle for now which I know is cheating a bit, I have been looking into using grain & hops but as I say, just a pup when it comes to this.

Now just a thought. :hmm:
If I wanted to make the next batch of extract stronger the key ingredient would obviously be more sugar, but this would probably alter the taste of the beer for the worst or the yeast that comes with the can of extract might not fully ferment with the extra sugar.. Am I right?

With this in mind would a wine or even a champagne yeast be the way forward to meet the demands of the extra sugar content?

Should I just forget the idea for danger of either pouring a ruined batch away or worst blowing myself up? :doh:

I'm quite keen to start messing around now & I think some proper loud mouth soup would go down quite well for Christmas, but it also needs to taste nice. :drink::drink:

What do you think?

A couple of options:

- Add spraymalt (Dry Malt extract - DME) or extra Liquid Malt Extract (LME) instead of sugar. That way you are not 'watering down' the malt flavours

- Brew the kit 'short'. Instead of making it up to 40 pints (for example) make it up to 32 pints. Essentially, you are not stretching the ferrmentables as far so will get a more concentrated version

- Get cracking on your own malt extract version of a recipe (Greg Hughes' book is a good place to start). That way you can adjust the flavour/ strength to suit