Lager Recipes

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oldtimer

Reaction score
Greetings fellow Drinkers I am new to all this, although I think I am halfway through my apprenticeship, I have done the kits. I have gone onto 'all grain' brewing (still learning here). I have done some nice wines.
But now my son-in-law wants me to brew some awful stuff called 'Lager'. But he wants it to taste something like the commercial stuff, he is muttering Calesburg, Fosters etc.
So can anyone give me guidance here please, either with recipes or links to a site with good recipes.
I really don't know what I am doing, but it's good fun and my beer so far is nice as well as cheap. Being a pensioner, that it important.
I would be grateful of any help, cheers :cheers:

Chablis type white wine
Merlot type Red wine
Home grown cider ( Maturing)

All lager has the same ingredients - Lager Malt, Hallertau Hops, Water and Lager Yeast. It's very boring.

The fun part is controlling the temperature, as it needs to ferment at low temperature to reduce the number of off flavours, and requires a temperature change. For this you'll need a chamber with a controllable temperature gauge. A lot of people convert old fridges - I plan to do the same.

Thanks Rob

Could you give me info, or point me in the right direction to get the information I need for making the stuff. I am not a lager drinker myself, for my part it's all P**s 'n' wind, but the son-in-law is good to me and the ole' trout so I suppose I should make an effort.

But as I have never made it before, I will need to find out the how and why. :?:

RobWalker said:
All lager has the same ingredients - Lager Malt, Hallertau Hops, Water and Lager Yeast. It's very boring.
What complete ********!