Should something be happening by now?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CabSav

Wine Brewer
Reaction score
Hi all. I started my first ever wine brews yesterday. A Beaverdale Merlot kit and Ohbears spiced apple wine WOW. It has been 22 hours since I pitched the yeast and there has been no activity in either one as yet. I know it can take up to 36 hours for fermentation to start from what I have read but as I am new to this, I am just after a little reassurance I have done everything correctly.

Beaverdale Kit:

Followed instructions precisely. Sterilised all kit, added grape juice, stirred very well. Took hydro reading (SG 1.088) Stirred / shook again, left 10 mins. Took second hydro reading to ensure it was the same and sugar mixed. Added oak. Ensured temp was ok (24deg), added yeast, stirred again. Put lid on with airlock. Temp dropped to 22deg (room temp) and has remained at that constantly.

Wow:

2 litre Red grape juice (100% pressed juice not from concentrate)
2 litre Apple juice (100% pressed juice not from concentrate)
680g (1lb 5oz) Sugar dissolved in 500ml warm water with juice of half a Lemon to invert sugar.
1 tsp tannin
1 tsp yeast nutrient.
1 tsp Pectolase.
1 tsp Glycerene.
1 tsp Yeast (Wilkos express wine yeast compound) Temp at 24deg when added.
Mixed well. Total sugar content = 1202g. SG = 1.102 Temp dropped to 22deg and has not changed since.

I have attached a pic showing my two fermantation bins. Thanks in advance for any advice :)

2015-08-26 09.21.49.jpg

Give it another 24 hours, one question though, was the same yeast used in both batches, or did the kit have its own yeast?