£58 for the brewday!!? .......Lets adjust that recipe. Thoughts on adjustments?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Welsh Badger

Reaction score
Hi all,
Brewday yesterday and decided to go for a double IPA based on Pliny the Elder. Yes, i know. I have less than 1 years experience and will likely end up tasting like a drip tray. Alas....i priced it up on The Malt Miller website. (btw...i would love to support LHBS but i am in Chester and i have not found one local to me that is any good / reliable / stock decent range of ingredients and hops.

So, the original recipe was below:

3.50 ozColumbusPellet15Boil90 min171.5428%
0.75 ozColumbusPellet15Boil45 min31.546%
1 ozSimcoePellet12.7Boil30 min29.818%
1 ozCentennialPellet10Aroma0 min8%
2.50 ozSimcoePellet12.7Aroma0 min20%
1 ozColumbusPellet15Dry Hop13 days8%
1 ozCentennialPellet10Dry Hop13 days8%
1 ozSimcoePellet12.7Dry Hop13 days8%
0.25 ozColumbusPellet15Dry Hop5 days2%
0.25 ozCentennialPellet10Dry Hop5 days2%
0.25 ozSimcoePellet12.7Dry Hop5 days2%

Total: Columbus 155g, Simcoe 133g, Centennial 65g = 353g total hops.
Yeast
White Labs WLP001 California Ale Yeast or
Wyeast 1056 American Ale Yeast

Original Gravity: 1.072
Final Gravity: 1.011
Extract Efficiency: 75 percent
IBUs: 90-95 (actual/not calculated)
ABV: 8.2%
SRM: 7

Once totalled on Malt Miller this brewday would have cost me £58! (including tax and delivery)

Being a typical northerner....i adjusted the recipe to save ££. Therefore, below is the adjustment:

Ingredients

Water: 6.0 gallons (23 L) [Net: 5 gallons (18.9 L) after hop loss]

Malts

13.25 lb (6.01 kg) Two-Row pale malt
0.6 lb (272 g) Crystal 45 malt
0.6 lb (272 g) Carapils (Dextrin) Malt

Adjunct

0.75 lb (340 g) Dextrose (corn) sugar)

Hops:

Mosaic (16.7g) (already in freezer)

Citra (20g) (already in freezer)

Hop & Adjuncts Regime

90 boil: 10g of Admiral