1st go at Citra SMaSH with US-05

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
With a bit of help from Google and a bit of guess work, I had a brewday last week doing a citra smash.
Simple Maris otter and 100g citra.
Currently fermenting with safale US-05.
Not used this yeast before that I'm aware of but think it looks good and the brew fridge smells amazing.
60 of the citra is going to be dry hopped.

Attachments

• 20221030_191816.jpg
    20221030_191816.jpg
    35.9 KB · Views: 4
Yes turned out awesome, very light with a hint of lemon.
I've not much experience with yeasts as this was only my second all grain brew.
The only thing I noticed was the Krauzen held for a lot longer but went in the end.

What yeast do Oakham ales use in their single hop do you think? That’s a great beer.
I would guess it's their own house yeast. I have no particular knowledge of Oakham, but most breweries I've been around of that size (or larger) maintain their own house yeast rather than buying it in. Buying yeast is expensive and it grows for free in the brewery.

Last edited:
I’ve done this same recipe Maris otter and citra, got it in the fermenter now, dry hopped yesterday and should be ready to bottle on Saturday, looking forward to trying it!!
I did a similar smash recipe but with mosaic and it was lovely!

I would guess it's their own house yeast. I have no particular knowledge, but most breweries I've been around of that size (or larger) maintain their own house yeast rather than buying it in. Buying yeast is expensive and it grows for free in the brewery.

Edit - Just realised I've completely misread Oakham as Adnams

Apparently they use two strains (not sure if this is a dual strain house yeast or they use them separately for different beers).

One strain is periodically released by White Labs - WLP025 Southwold Yeast – VAULT STRAIN - The Malt Miller