Advice for mash tun ...2 sizes available

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

anthonymartin935

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to all grain brewing and plan to use the thermopot mash tun , a boiler / hlt and 2 x 30l fermenters (with temp controlled fridge fermentation chamber as previously).

My question , I was about to buy the NEW 50l mash tun Euro135 delivered (no tap no nothing ..some work to be done with drilling etc) and a 70l boiler with batches in the 30-50l range .

I have seen a used 80l thermopot mash tun with tap , temp guage and recirc camlock on the lid for 110Euro ......would I be silly to buy the 80l mash tun if I do not see the need for such large batches and the bigger inconvenience of the dimensions of this larger tun . Not sure what to do as it is modified already with tap etc whilst the new Tun 50l with mods done will possibly cost me Euro 165-190 all in with tap etc .

Also the dead space in tun but don´t that is a big deal ...is it ?

What is best choice ...the kettle will still be 70l .

Many thanks for any input on this trivial decision .

Toni

would I be silly to buy the 80l mash tun if I do not see the need for such large batches and the bigger inconvenience of the dimensions of this larger tun
I think you've answered your own question there!
Also the dead space in tun but don´t that is a big deal ...is it ?
Dead space isn't a problem.

The only thing that might impact the beer might be the dimensions of the grain bed. If the larger mash tun (assuming it is a larger width than the other one) will end up with a shallower-but-wider mash bed. If you sparge, a shallower grain bed will have less distance/time for the sparge water to rinse extra sugars from the grain, and potentially lead to a sightly lower OG. Whether this is true in practise or not, I don't honestly know, but I imagine it's probably negligible anyway.