AG#12 D&B Ale (Dandelion and Burdock)

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stevela

Regular.
Reaction score
I'll probably end up filing this brewday under the what the *#!? was I thinking but here goes.

I've been asked since I started brewing by one of my friends to make something alcoholic involving dandelion and burdock, I finally agreed on the proviso that he provides the required roots etc. These turned up last week so I guess it's time to hold up my end of the bargain :)

Initially I came across this recipe in the Guardian and was going to just run with that however I decided rather than use plain old sugar I'd brew a basic ale and use the D&B instead of the hops.

Recipe: AG#12 D&B Ale
TYPE: All Grain

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size (fermenter): 23.00 l
Estimated OG: 1.066 SG
Estimated Color: ???? Dark
Brewhouse Efficiency: 72.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 78.3 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amt Name
4.25 kg Maris Otter (Crisp) (5.5 EBC)
0.50 kg Caramel/Crystal Malt - 60L (118.2 EBC)
Approx 700g Burdock
Approx 250g Dandelion Root
1 Tin (454g) Black Treacle
1.0 pkg SafAle English Ale (DCL/Fermentis #S-04)

Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Light Body, Batch Sparge, Drain
Total Grain Weight: 4.75 kg
----------------------------
Name Description Step Temperat Step Time
Mash In Add 13.89 l of water at 69.9 C 64.4 C 75 min
Sparge: Batch sparge with 2 steps (Drain mash tun, , 20.26l) of 75.6 C water

I originally have this with 250g of crystal however I had a half open packet that needed using and thought why not put it all in :)

Measuring strike water:

Ux74NUR.jpg

Weighing out grains with my very manly scoop:

HyEuV1I.jpg

Mash is on time to have a brew. I'll stick all the D&B into the boiler at the beginning and the treacle in the last 15 minutes.