Another stuck Wherry - what can I do??

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi I'm new to all this too and seems my first brew a St Peter's golden ale is also stuck at 1020 after 8 days! Tested on day 6,7,8 all the same reading

I've moved it to a warmer place and given it a stir going to leave it for a week then test again!!

If it's not changed not really sure what to do, read about raisins but don't these affect flavour also adding yeast and nutrients don't they affect the flavour??

I chucked in a handfull of raisins and a little squeeze of tomato puree and gave it a stir(thanks Slid) and it seemed to do the trick.
Give it a lttle time then try again,it will get there in the end with any luck

Good luck I think mine was solved by a stir as it dropped from 1020 to 1018 the day after the stir! That was Monday I haven't touched it since but was planning on bottling at the weekend!

Very annoying as it's more of a shandy than a beer! It seems this is so common,

I've moved mine upstairs where it's warmer and had it on a heat pad since Wednesday. Fingers crossed there will be some improvement because it's being bottled this weekend regardless!

Good luck with yours.

Good work DrMick - sounds like yours has sorted itself out.
I've had partial success with mine, with a hydrometer reading of 1.016 yesterday. It's been sat in FV for so long now that I decided to bottle it no matter what this weekend and that's what I did this evening. It's going to go one of three ways:

1) continue the theme of lousy fermentation and do nothing in the bottles, leaving me with flat beer.
2) finally do something and end up a little fizzier than normal with a extra sugar adding to the half teaspoon of priming sugar.
3) explode in the bottles!