Batch Priming

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

damienair

Landlord.
Reaction score
Hello all,

I have tried to research this myself without having to ask you. I am a little confused, I am a Newbie after all. I have my second Kit in an FV which is nearing the end or has finished fermenting as it has been on since 24th of December. I'll take a reading tomorrow and Thursday and will bottle then. This is a Cooper Hefe Wheat Kit which I brewed using 1 Kg of Dry Malt Extract and 0.5 Kg of Dextrose. I have been searching online for the best advice for Batch Priming this brew. It is my first time to batch prime and my first time using Glass Bottles with Caps. So I am trying to do it right without having any caps blow off due to over priming. My first brew is conditioning in my Garage since New Years Day and I used Coopers PET Bottles and Carbonation drops on that one.

The Priming Calculator when using Carbonation Guidelines for a wheat beer of 3.3-4.5 Volumes estimates 246.5g of Dextrose at the lower volume.

I read somewhere else that for a wheat beer 10g per litre is correct which would give me 210g of Dextrose for the batch priming.

I have also read from a thread here on a review of this kit that 150g of Table sugar and 180g of Golden Cane sugar was used to batch prime.

I will be using Dextrose, so is 210g of Dextrose OK for me to use so as to batch prime this brew or should I go with the calculator?

Many thanks,

Damien

Attachments

• 2nd Brew.jpg
    2nd Brew.jpg
    21.6 KB · Views: 55
I tend to use 160g of brewing sugar for 20l of wheat beer because otherwise the last of the batch gets a bit fizzy
Thank you very much for your advice and feedback. Very much appreciated. Looking forward to tasting this in a few weeks.

Damien