Beer O'Clock IPA

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SteelT

Reaction score
Hi Guys, from another home brew enthusiast :)

I'm fairly new in the home brewing and so far I have only brewed 2 batches with a fairly standard kit, nothing too fancy. First batch was OK, actually slightly disappointing, but I hope the second batch will be better.

Now, I want to start with some small experiments to improve the beer kits and Coopers have quite interesting recipes on their web site.
I picked one, which I will start brewing tomorrow called "Beer O'Clock IPA", and here is the recipe, with some small amendments :

Ingredients:
1.7kg Pale Ale Brew Can (Coopers)
2 x 500g Light Dry Malt (I have got 1x500g Light DME and 1x500g light DME hopped)
200g Crystal Wheat Grains
25g Nelson Sauvin Hops (Pellets)
25g Galaxy Hops (Pellets)
25g Bravo Hops (Columbus Hops (Pellets) , as I couldn't find bravo)
11.5g Safale US05 Yeast
250g pkt Carbonation Drops

Method:

Place the Crystal Wheat Grain in a plastic zip-lock sandwich bag and crack it using a rolling pin.
Stir into 2 litres of hot water (not boiling) and let steep for about 1hr.
Strain into a good size pot (around 8 litres) then add 500g of Light Dry Malt plus another 2 litres of water and bring to the boil.
Add Nelson Sauvin hops and boil for 10mins then Galaxy Hops for a further 10mins then Bravo Hops for the final 10mins (30mins boil in total).
Set the pot in a cold/ice water bath to cool then strain into a fermenting vessel (FV).
Add the Australian Pale Ale and the remaining 500g of Light Dry Malt, stir to dissolve then top up with cool water to the 20 litre mark and stir thoroughly.
Check the brew temperature and top up to the 23 litre mark with warm or cold water (refrigerated if necessary) to get as close as possible to 18°C.
Sprinkle the dry yeast, fit the lid and try to ferment at 18°C.