Boiling liquor to precipitate chalk

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm still learning the water side of brewing... I'm doing a pale ale with Anglian water, the hardest water I've come across - from the water report the hardness is something like 300ppm as carbonate. Very high - the limescale left on everything the water touches confirms this to be the case.

I've already got bottled water to dilute (3 bottled :1 tap) to reduce the residual alkalinity for the mash as my usual process (plus some Citric acid), however I was wondering if I could boil the mash liquor first and then allow to cool overnight and then resume in the morning to get it back to strike temperature.

Is this feasible and how much of the carbonate will this remove approximately (I assume it won't be all of it, more like 75%)? I can add Gypsum back in to bring up the calcium if necessary. Do I need to decant it off the sediment to remove the chalk or can I just leave it for the mash if it's not in solution?

The figures for the local tap water I looked up online are:
Calcium177, Sulphate22, Chloride58, Sodium25, Magnesium2.4, Hardness as carbonate 300, pH7.65

Last edited:

Thanks! So I boil for 10 minutes and then decant off the sediment once it settles. Perfect.

They reckon an approximate maximum remaining bicarbonate of 80ppm so that's close to my dilution with bottled water to 75ppm, and then I'll treat the rest with Citric acid. Something to try out in future or when I'm out of bottled water.

Using the formula in the article I get a final calcium level that's also not too bad:
Ca(end) = Ca(start) - [HCO3(start) - HCO3(end)]/3.05
Ca(end) = 177 - (300-80)/3.05 = 105ppm

👍

Last edited: