Brewferm Kit Out of Date

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Slid

Forum Friend
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi All

Secret Santa brought me a Brewferm Christmas Ale Kit dated Dec 2015. It is a 1.5kg kit that is brewed to 7 (yes, seven) Liters. If I put it on in the next day or so, I reckon I can put into another present - 12 x 0.5L swing-top bottles for Christmas 2016.

My question is around yeast starters, as I don't fancy pitching an out of date kit yeast, especially as I know that the kit spent some time (up to 2 years, I guess) in a HB shop. Also, the Mr Malty calculator tells me one pack is not enough at ~2 years from manufacture, as I would need something like 10g, or two packs.

I have re-used slurry a number of times, using 250ml bottles plus the slurry mixed with green beer. I have never done a starter for a dry yeast before. Can I use a PET bottle as small as 0.5L to do an overnight yeast starter for this? Or is a 2L bottle a better bet? I would use a rate of 100g per litre of liquid, so was thinking 40g in 400ml for the 05L bottle, if suitable, or 100g in 1 litre for a 2L bottle.

Any thoughts?

If it was me I'd just chuck in the supplied yeast as normal. I've had no problems with the yeast in kits 6 to 12 months out of date, and never bother with yeast starters. If you're worried you could have a spare packet on standby in case there's no activity after 36 hours or so.

Coincidentally, last night I opened a Brewferm Christmas Ale bottled in July 2014. It really does mature beautifully...

I would personally use a fresh yeast. The cans of extract have a 10 year life span.

There just not allowed by some EU EEC directive to put a 10 year date on it ;-)