cider question following mistake by newbie!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mrs Pink

Reaction score
Hi guys
I am new to home brewing and haven't much of a clue! So far I have made a batch of white wine from a kit (cheating!) and a batch of cider from a kit.... my attempt at home-made elderflower wine had to go on the compost heap!
Anyway I decided to try and make something with apple juice - bunged 4 litres of juice and 500g of sugar into a demijohn and added a packet of cider yeast. I then noticed that the yeast was sufficient for 25 litres!!! :shock: :shock:
I put it on a heat pad and it is bubbling away merrily.
Is it going to be a complete disaster? Will I need to chuck it? I am not sure what adding too much yeast will do?
All advice gratefully received.
Thanks!

ive only made my first batch of turbo cider last night and only used half of the yeast, i used a normal cup full of granulated sugar.
watch this video, this guy is really good and easy to follow, he puts in about 3 cups of sugar and a full packet of yeast and it turns out rather alcoholic but I dont know if it will ruin it, u might need to leave it a bit longer

video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=La38oQjdyPw

Thanks - do you mean leave it after it has stopped fermenting for a couple of days before bottling?
I have a collection of plastic bottles as well as wine bottles with screw caps - what do you think it would be best in? Also how long does it need in the bottle before it is drinkable? Cheers :cheers:

Nice to meet you Mrs Pink
:D