cider yeasts

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vassili

Reaction score
Afternoon all,

I have begged, scrumped and been given roughly a quarter of a tonne of mixed apples.
They are all nice and ripe, my patio smells gorgeous in the morning and evening.
So, this weekend I'm hiring the necessary industrial equipment to process them.
I've got some 45 gal barrels, and various other size fv,s to accommodate.
Now this is where I'm in a quandary, do I not wash the fruit and take a chance on a natural ferment and possibly ruin a huge amount of juice, or do I steralise and add wine yeast, beer yeast?
If I go for the latter where can you buy large quantities of yeast for such big vessels?
Any thoughts, suggestions hugely welcome.
Cheers, J.

Right. I'm no expert. This is my first autumn attempting to make cider.

I was chatting to one of the old fellas in my village. He was telling me he makes cider 'au naturelle'. Puts the apple juice in into a fermenting bucket. Just puts a tea towel over to keep the flies off, and tops it up with more juice as it bubbles ferments and reduces.

Sounds risky to me. But if I was in your situation I think I'd try a fermenting bucket or two using this method but ferment the majority with yeast. Again not from experience but other friends / colleagues recommend Champagne yeast for cider. I'd had conflicting advice about adding Campdens 24/48 hrs before adding the yeast. Some advised do. But the place where I took my apples to for scratting / pressing advised against Campdens and said sterilising the FVs before adding the juice was enough - they prefer to let both the natural and added yeast work together.