Clear wort when sparging?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tony Dyer

Reaction score
Right, I've been brewing for 3 years or so with varying degrees of success but generally improving. However... when sparging, all the instruction books, manuals, websites etc. that I read say that you should recirculate your wort until it "runs clear". In all my 50 or so brews, this has never once happened, the runnings always remain cloudy although (sometimes) they improve a little after 8 or 9 circulations of 500mL to 1L each. I'm using the old 2 plastic buckets with holes in the base of the inner one method and a watering can with a rose.
Can anyone testify to what "runs clear" means and has anyone achieved this?

If so, I'd be interested to know how you do it!

Vorlauf I think it's called...I do enough jugs returning liquid to the mash tun until its clear of any husks and considerable amounts of any malt flour . I never get it absolutely clear to start but as the sparge progresses it clears quite nicely.

Right, I've been brewing for 3 years or so with varying degrees of success but generally improving. However... when sparging, all the instruction books, manuals, websites etc. that I read say that you should recirculate your wort until it "runs clear". In all my 50 or so brews, this has never once happened, the runnings always remain cloudy although (sometimes) they improve a little after 8 or 9 circulations of 500mL to 1L each. I'm using the old 2 plastic buckets with holes in the base of the inner one method and a watering can with a rose.

If so, I'd be interested to know how you do it!