Elderberry Wine - Quantities?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mark H

Reaction score
Hi folks,

After a morning of foraging elderberries, destemming them and cleaning them i have a total weight of 9lbs of berries.

This is my first time making a proper homemade wine, (i have only used wine kits before) and my problem is, i am not sure how many gallons of wine 9lbs of elderberries will make, or how much sugar to use.

I have looked at several recipes but they vary greatly. What i am hoping for is a finished wine at about 12-13%.

Could anyone give me a pointer to how much water, sugar, etc. to use with the amount fruit i have got. I have a fair idea of how to make my wine, its mainly the quantities i'm not sure about.

Cheers all,

Mark.

I think CJJ Berry uses 3lb of elderberries to one Gal of wine.
Others on here making port use 3lb of elderberriess plus similar quantities of other fruits.
I've just used 7lbs of just elderberries in 1 gal (which I think might be a bit too much, so it might get blended with something else later).

There's plenty of different recipes so I'd suggest that whatever you make will be ok, and then you can decided how to adjust the quantity next time, either more or less.

If you only have elderberries, that will make you 3 gallons. Check out Moley's 'How to' on making elderberry wine in the HT section for a recipe. NB: you'll want some raisins too.

If you can find 7lb of blackberries, put the whole lot together and make 4 gallons of Blackberry and Elderberry.

Cheers guys, so if i make 3 gallons using the 9lb of elderberries, how much sugar would i need to also add?

Make it up as you go along, raisins are optional or you could use red grape juice instead of some of the water.