Evenin' all!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm Calvin; and I'm a home brewer currently living on South Uist. Hmm: username does what it says on the tin.

I'm very new to brewing and have used a couple of kits so far - all-grain stovetop ones (4.5 ltr); I have absolutely no experience with malt extract or other kits and I set out on the back only of the instructions in the kits themselves, plus Greg Hughes's Home Brew Beer and also James Morton's Brew, the latter of which I picked up in Shetland recently alongside a visit to the Lerwick Brewery.

I've lurked on the forum for a couple of weeks since I chanced across it, but the wealth of information and the sheer amount of activity has been great and I've found out a huge amount of really interesting stuff that I didn't know - like no-chill, how to dry hop and about the merits of various all-in-one systems - so I thought it was about time I stopped lurking and started participating. Over time, I hope to be able to give a bit back, too.

I've brewed just three kits so far - an IPA and an APA courtesy of the now-defunct craftbrewbeer people in Kirkcaldy; and a Black IPA courtesy of brewuk.