Fermentation going as it should?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bille

Reaction score
Hi brewers, I'm new here and English is not my first language, so sorry in advance for any mistakes!
I have little experience with brewing, so any advice would be highly appreciated :)

5 days ago I made 30L of elderflower champagne, but I think the fermentation is going too slow.
The process if making the champagne ( if anybody needs more info ) :
  1. Boil elderflower, lemon, sugar, white wine vinegar with 10L water
  2. Add water/sugar mixture until the hydrometer gave a gravity reading of about 1.050
  3. Seal fermentation vessel and wait till next morning
  4. Measure gravity 1.062 as OG
  5. Add Kitzinger champagne yeast
At the end of the day when the yeast was added, I noticed bubbles in the yeast lock.
The fermentation vessel is in a room with a temperature of 20 degrees Celsius / 68 degrees Fahrenheit.
I measured the gravity at day 3, and it was down to 1.052.
The gravity at day 4 was 1.050 and day 5 also measured 1.050.
There have been stabile bobbles on average every 25 second since day one after adding yeast, ranging from 17 to 32 seconds between.

I am worried about the sugar levels not dropping fast enough.
I can definitely taste and smell that something good is going on, and the brew looks fresh on the top.
I have not yet removed the elderflowers, or in any way filtrated the brew.

All questions and tips are very welcome.
Thank you in advance!

Have made a few elderflower champagnes.
Would suggest next time not boiling the elderflower as you will boil off lots of the lovely aroma.
Just put the elderflower after washing in the fermenter, and your ingredients. Pour on a couple of litres of boiling water and then top up with water to whatever volume you want and add sugar syrup (account for that in your volume ).