First brew Blues.

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Delidroid

Reaction score
Hello there.
In 1976 I started brewing my own beer using Boots 1 Gallon beer kits. I didn’t know how good or bad it was as I was 13 and couldn’t drink in Pubs. I tried a few kits and once an all grain system years later by gave up as the beer was rubbish compared to what the experts were brewing.

Recently since the Pubs were shut indefinitely I ventured into Wilco’s and bought A 5 gallon bucket, Pressure Barrel, Hydrometer, Syphon, spoon, Campden tablets and Woodfordes wherry beer kit. No Book or Thermometers for sale so did what I could.

I Washed and sterilised everything with a mixture of dilute Bleach and white Vinegar, Rinsed and then 5 crushed Campden tablets in hot water.
made the kit by pouring the cans into the bucket, rinsed out with hot water. Added a couple more kettles of hot water to bin to dissolve the syrup. I filled it to 5 gallon mark with cold water. I added 1/2 a Campden tablet to remove the Chlorine.

After 5 hours I pitched the yeast and left it in the corner of a fairly cool room and left it to ferment. The O.G. Was 1045. When it stopped fermenting 6 days later F.G was 1014. I checked again the next day and barrelled it with 3oz sugar.

I left it alone for 24 Days and tasted it. (Ok I carried it down the garden to the Shed and expected it to be a bit cloudy that night).
It tasted like a beer kit and left a bitter aftertaste And am thoroughly disappointed.

I carried the barrel back to the house and have left it in the corner 5 days ago and I’m wondering if I should have saved time and rolled the thing out the door into the nearest Bush. I haven’t tasted it yet though. I’m not a happy Bunny.