First Brew Hydrometer readings

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

boxing day massacre

Reaction score
I am very new to this and bought a kit a young's brew buddy cider. Started it yesterday and forgot to take an initial reading with the hydrometer.

how vigorously should it bubble ? i have some bubbles and a layer of foam/froth forming on the top

In the instructions its says that after fermentation the SG should read 1008-1002 on the hydrometer supplied with the kit the scale is from 0.995 to 1.120, so should i be reading the hydrometer i have at 1.008 - 1.002 this is showing the range to be in amber and the colour scale inside the hydrometer is this correct.

Foam and bubbles are pretty sure signs of fermenting so good stuff. Beer is pretty vigourous, but cider and wine tend to go slowly. You seem to know what you're doing but cider generally ferments down below 1.000. The trick to all brewing is patience - let it do its thing and give it time too :)

Hi BDM. Welcome to the forum. First off forget about the colours. They mean nothing important. If you look at the scale you will see the range graduated. 1.002-1.008 is where you want to be once fermentation has finished. Your brew sounds as though it's doing fine. The bubble rate will get more rapid for the first few days and then slow down. Depending on the temperature will determine how fast it ferments. Try to keep it around 20-22c but below 25c if you can. A nice slow ferment is best so don't worry if it takes longer than the instructions. When the bubbles really slow down test it with your hydrometer to see where you are. Ask on here if you are unsure and someone will help.

Thanks for your advice