First Brew - St Peter's Golden Ale

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

starkid721

Reaction score
Hi all,
First post here – I have found all the information and brewing stories on here to be really inspiring, so thanks to all the previous posters.
I’m a total novice at brewing, but very experienced at drinking! First brew details are here below.
Took on a St Peters Golden Ale. Took the morning off work to try and make a decent fist of it to start with. Was careful to sterilise everything with no rush. The instructions with the kit were straightforward. The two tins went in the FV, whereupon I gave it a really good stir to aerate the mix.
Added the packet yeast and gave it a stir - controversial I know! I decided to stir in the in yeast rather than sprinkling it on top, simply because there was an awful lot of froth on top of the wort in the FV after my initial vigorous stirring to aerate it. I was worried about the yeast just sitting on top of the froth and not doing anything. After reading all the advice and lessons learned on here, I think next time I will try rehydrating the yeast and adding it as a liquid. OG came out at 1036. Although I didn’t appreciate it at the time, this seems to have been rather lower than might normally be expected.
The rubber grommit that came with my airlock bubbler had perished (I had borrowed it and it was rather old), so I just put some sellotape over the hole instead, piercing it with a pin a few times. FV then went in the cupboard under the stairs, where it stayed for 11 days.