First time cider brew

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ginger79

Reaction score
Hi all
Complete newbie here.
I've just moved to a house the has a Bramley tree with so many apples on it iv decided to jump into the home brewing world to make use of them.
Now I understand that Bramleys on there own probably won't make a very good cider but I'm going to try anyway.
I've bought 5 1 gallon demijohns and think I'll try some slightly different things and see if I can hit on one that's good.
If anyone has any experience with bramleys or general advice it would be greatly appreciated.
My ideal cider would be clear, quite dry ,slightly sparkling
Here are the things I'm going to try so far.
Press apples
Add yeast ,pectinase
Leave to ferment with air locks then leave until clear and then bottle with 1/2 teaspoon of sugar per bottle.
Press apples
Add yeast,pectinase ,1 tablespoon of tannin (do I add this now or after fermentation?)
Leave to ferment then leave to mature for 3-4 months before bottling. (Should I just leave in the same demijon or move to a new one?).
I've also heard I should add a campden tablet before bottling is this true?

I know this is a lot of questions but I would really apreciate your advice

Thanks
Putting it in bottles for conditioning would be much easier its just that I read in an old thread on here that you should mature it in bulk so thought maybe I should leave it in a demijon and bottle after

Hi all
Complete newbie here.
I've just moved to a house the has a Bramley tree with so many apples on it iv decided to jump into the home brewing world to make use of them.
Now I understand that Bramleys on there own probably won't make a very good cider but I'm going to try anyway.
I've bought 5 1 gallon demijohns and think I'll try some slightly different things and see if I can hit on one that's good.