Has my cider gone bad?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tony1951

Bungling Amateur
Reaction score
Hello again. Some of you might remember me before I moved house and stopped brewing. I'm back with a question and I hope not a problem.

I had done about forty some brews of all grain beer and all but one were successful. Not all were great beers, but I pretty much had the technique so I am not a beginner brewer.

Anyhow, I moved house to a cottage in Northumberland and because it was so much smaller than where I lived before, I jacked in brewing. So - I have a neighbour who has access to a lot of apples and he likes a drink. He knew I had been brewing on a hobby basis and he asked me to help him knock out a few litres of cider made from his apples. I got a small press and last month we got started and made two separate brews of unpasturised unsterilised apple juice that we pressed ourselves from barrow loads of apples. We ended up with about 48 litres of cider and we might even do more, because he has more apples in store.

The first brew worked out pretty much like I had expected. 1050 sg apple juice, no sulphites and a nice Canadian yeast LALVIN 71B-1122 that was supposed to reduce acidity (and it did). The first brew is now in the bottles and tastes good and looks good. No sign of any weird bacteria or moulds even though the only hygiene with the apples was to wash them and chuck out any obviously rank ones and then smash them up in a bucket and put the resulting pulp into a press we had bought on ebay, and press the juice out of them.

It is the second brew, done a week later that I am a bit worried about.
CIDER SCUM.jpg