Hello all :)

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JohnBoy27

Reaction score
Hello everyone (waves enthusiastically)

I’m John, I’m 27 and recently started up home brewing. I live near Glasgow and would be good to maybe find some other home brewers near by to swap advice and maybe ideas with and maybe even some home brew - who knows. I’ll share a bit about myself below and what got me into hone brewing.

My background is in horticulture, basically a glorified gardener by trade. About 6 or 7 years ago I thought “I’m going to grow a grape vine and turn the grapes into wine”… sounds simple enough?!

I started home brewing wine from kits with a simple 6 bottle setup that I had bought online at the start of year. So far I have made about 12 bottles from the Beaversdale (whites) range - which after a few months have aged quite well and I seem to be building up some wine to age and hopefully try at Christmas!

I have just started my first ever wine from my own grape vine! Which is an achievement in its self since the scottish climate is hardly the French Rivera! thanks to this forum that I have managed to find recipes and ideas and advice to help making my first ever “from scratch” wine.

I have no idea what stopped me from joining before now, perhaps the home brew has kicked in! Hahaha.

I look forward to meeting everyone and hopefully be able to share my experiences and learn from some of those seasoned pros on here.

I have just started my first ever wine from my own grape vine! Which is an achievement in its self since the scottish climate is hardly the French Rivera! thanks to this forum that I have managed to find recipes and ideas and advice to help making my first ever “from scratch” wine.

Wow! That's brilliant!