Hello from the Steel City

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

moke

Reaction score
Hello - been registered here a while, and reading a while longer, but felt it was time to pop up and say hello.

I'm a Sheffield based, but South London / Surrey born and bred newby. i've been fudging my way along for the last 6 months or so, knocking out beer kits, wine kits, WOW's and a few improvised concoctions of my own design.

Biggest beer success so far would be an EDME stout kit, pumped up with molasses and treacle, with a bit of wine yeast to make sure it ran all the way out to bone dry. It's nearly all gone!

as well as that pretty much beer as usual - a fairly dreadful youngs lager kit made with table sugar (yeah yeah... i learned!), a wherry kit, coopers canadian, a generic best bitter here and there. I'm trying to compel myself to try all grain, but i'm not convinced the results will be better enough to make it worth the investment - anyone care to convince me?

i've had success in brewing out wine - mostly as my wife likes the results, therefore turns a blind eye to the rest of the gear for bear cluttering up the kitchen. lots of wurzel chardonnay, a fluked wurzel passable table red using grapefruit, asda red grape and loads of jet black tea.

favourite invention being my 'Rhubarbacide' from the sisters allotment overspill - no idea why it isn't a commercial brew - it's awesome!

outside that, i work at Sheffield other university as a packaging design consultant., cook a lot, keep chickens, follow AFC Wimbledon and Essex CCC, thrash about to a bit of mathcore metal pretending to still be a 21 year old, run a bit, cycle a bit, romp round the park with my kids and generally do my best to have a good time on the cheap, as like most people who turn to homebrew to begin with, i'm skint!