Helping with clearing

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OlsBean

Reaction score
I'm still quite new to brewing beer so please be patient with me :laugh2:

I feel I've had some great success so far and to date have had 4 kits reach the drinkable stage, 2 Stouts, a Golden Ale (St Peters) and my most recent a Bitter (Festival Landlords Finest Bitter).

The Golden Ale I had in the PB and it poured kind of hazy, not very clear at all despite tasting fantastic and carbing up well. I followed the a similar route with the Bitter but having learned from my previous experience with the Golden Ale I paid more attention to clearing it, giving it longer in the FV and Cold Crashing it for 4 days before transferring it to the PB. But after a couple of weeks in the PB it is still quite cloudy/hazy (Picture Below) and was wondering where I might be going wrong or am I just expecting too much? I know that some of the cloudiness will be chill haze as it's quite cold at the moment (Beer in the glass is @ 7ºc) but still feel I need work on this aspect of my brewing. Should I use fining's? Most things I have read so far suggest they should not be needed. Could I be getting too much sediment whilst transferring? I have an auto siphon and have noticed that it does sometimes glug, is there a better way of doing it?

Any tips or advice would be most welcome.

1cvuUvi.jpg

I'm not an expert.....
Auto syphon. ...try flaring out the seal at the end the internal tube with gentle pressure from your thumb.
You seem to be getting on fine really. ...at 7°c you may have some chill haze.
If you are cold crashing try siphoning to a bottling bucket and batch priming before bottling.

All you need to clear a beer is "Time and Gravity".

Different beers and different methods just mean different times to clear so I would just sit back, leave it for another couple of weeks and try again.