IM HAVING A BAD WINE DAY 🍷😊 HELP!!!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zara.

Reaction score
Good morning 🌞 I'm new to wine kit making and made my first batch of cabernet sauvignon and sauvignon blanc last month using the kit from wilkos,I have just started making a 30 bottle kit of merlot and 30 Chardonnay ( winehobby brand) I followed the instructions and there in a warm place in a 25 litre fermenting bucket since Saturday, I do keep checking them as they are bubbling out of the airlock and the merlot blew the top off the airlock loads of froth in both so I have removed the airlock cap and put a glass over each lil airlock with the water halfway in the remaining airlock base it's still frothing over and no bubble in the airlock just alot of foam what's goin wrong can anyone advise me I have a hydrometer but I don't know how to read it can anyone help me with that in simple terms xx zara

Nothing has gone wrong. You have a very active fermentation which will calm down over the next few days. A couple of spare airlocks are useful so you can change them quickly,failing that wash and sanitise and put back what you have. A better option is a blow off tube instead....a length of tube going from the top of the vessel into a bottle of sanitiser. All the foam then gets pushed into the bottle .

Hi Zara search the forum how to read a hydrometer or the internet that will help you there.
It looks like you have a vigorous fermentation, just clean it up wash everything like the airlock lid and replace.
Ps make sure everything is sanitised and we do not advocate taking the lid off too much as it can get nasties in but place a piece of clingfilm over the wine while you are cleaning the lid etc, the fermentation will settle down in a day or two