Moving from Kits to AG Equipment advice

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PokeHer

Reaction score
Hey all,

Sorry this question probably comes up every week. I have tried searching the forum a lot but haven't really found what I'm looking for.

I have been brewing from kits for about 18 months and I have been planning to move to the "dark side" for a while now. So I have all of the equipment required for kit brewing, I just need the AG stuff. I am planning on buying everything. I have read several interesting posts on how some of you have made your own gear which I am kind of interested in, but I have the money available to invest in shiny things. In your honest opinion, do you think that I could build something better than I can buy? (without breaking the bank of course). I have moderate DIY skills. It's an honest question, I have no idea on the answer. I have a budget of between £300-£500 for my main 3 pieces of equipment (being the boiler, mash tun & wort chiller)

So firstly, given my situation, would you suggest buying my equipment or creating a DIY build?

And then, assuming you suggest that I buy, what do you think to these?

Mash Tun - http://www.the-home-brew-shop.co.uk/aca ... QG_7qHMdvk
Boilers - http://www.the-home-brew-shop.co.uk/aca ... QHAPaHMdvk
http://www.hopandgrape.co.uk/public/det ... TA20252653
Wort Chiller - http://www.the-home-brew-shop.co.uk/aca ... ml#a100110

I read on here that the Brupaks Boiler is not ideal for 23ltr brews. Quantity is not overly important, I brew 23ltrs now so I guess I'd like to stick to that.

Another quicky, should I get a separate HLT now? or wait to see how I get on first?