New member/new brewer

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Manners

Reaction score
Hi guys, I’m new to brewing and decided to take the plunge and ask Santa to bring me a brew starter kit for Christmas. He did and also a Festival Belgian Pale Ale kit which I thought would be a good starter for ten.

i’ve been lurking in the background, developing my knowledge with some good information here so thanks for that, but the obvious reason I’ve joined is I have a question that I haven’t been able to find the answer for!

Having followed the kit instructions (ahem more or less) I am now 9 days into the brew, 4 days after the addition of hops. I have taken a sample and have a gravity reading of 1.011. The kit instructions call for transferring the brew for secondary fermentation into the barrel at 10 days with no mention of FG level for this. However for bottling they state it needs to be at or below 1.007 FG.

Now I understand the need for the fermentation to be finished prior to bottling to avoid the potential of bombs, but if Im not at the FG stated above is it worth holding on a little longer in primary prior to barreling to squeeze out a little more ABV? Or do I run the risk of the hops (pellets) being in the brew longer than recommended and possibly ending up with undesirable flavours?

Also, having got my Gravity reading I tried my sample after a little cooling. It tasted a little sour, perhaps slightly acidic. Am I just being a nervous newbie and it should probably taste like this at this stage, or has it possibly picked up some bacteria (despite what I thought was decent sanitation). Im not thinking of dumping it and will wait and see anyway, but curious as to how close to the conditioned flavour its likely to be at this stage?

thanks and look forward to learning much more!

Hello,