The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi folks, just a quick introduction. My name's Grant, I'm from Falkirk, and I've been brewing on and off for a couple of years. I recently upgraded my kit from a stock pot on the stove and a plastic fermenting tub to a Grainfather setup and I've been navigating the challenges of high(er) tech brewing.

Hi Grant. I actually went back to stove top yesterday as I was doing a complicated brew. Best part was cooling really quickly in the sink (the brew not me :D).

Welcome
Excellent! That quick cooling is definitely a plus... that's the only part of my setup that's not there yet - I'm having to overnight cool as my kit is nowhere near a suitable tap for the counterflow wort chiller. 😐 What're you brewing?

Excellent! That quick cooling is definitely a plus... that's the only part of my setup that's not there yet - I'm having to overnight cool as my kit is nowhere near a suitable tap for the counterflow wort chiller. 😐 What're you brewing?

I've got two counterflow chillers (for historical reasons) but often do a no-chill overnight. It really shortens the brew day. Mine isn't that close to a tap, by the way, but a few metres of garden hose has sorted that.

I brew all kinds of stuff, latest was to brew all three sub styles of Biere de Guarde (Blonde, Amber and Brown) simultaneously. That was a busy two days :D.

Quite often (like the above) what I brew is prompted by what I see/read on here. The monthly competitions for example lead me to brew stuff I wouldn't have done without prompting.

Falkirk?!
download.jpeg

Welcome!

I've got two counterflow chillers (for historical reasons) but often do a no-chill overnight. It really shortens the brew day. Mine isn't that close to a tap, by the way, but a few metres of garden hose has sorted that.