Oxi Cleaners - Can they be used for sanitising too?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
A question I've been pondering for a while which this other thread has galvanised me into asking. Please read the blog / article I cite below before responding so that you can see the source of my query.

I have been using Harris SureSan since I started brewing about 18 months ago. It's all I use and I've been using it as described without any infection (as far as I know) It does appear to have the same ingredient (soduim percarbonate) as the Oxi cleaners.

Separately, I also use Wilko Oxi stuff for soaking (as part of the cleaning step). This also has the same active ingredient.

Josh Weikert, who I belive is a respected brewer and writer, talks about a product called One Step {LINK HERE} in an old blog entry of his {LINK HERE} and his assertion is that using this product you don't need to 'sanitise' with a separate product (it's quite a good read)

So, notwithstanding any differences in the make up of the products (which actually might be really, really fundamental), if one were to clean with an Oxi type product, and bearing in mind that Harris SureSan appears to contain the exact same active ingredient, and taking into consideration the Josh Weikert's view, is it possible to just use an Oxi cleaner and that would be sufficient to clean and sanitise?

Surely I am already using a sodium percarbonate based product to sanitise.

Cheers

Other references:
One Step EU data sheet One Step EU SDS (ecologiccleansers.com)
Harris SureSan data sheet Suresan-MSDS.pdf (harrishomecraft.com)

Last edited:
I actually do not understand why they are called "Oxi cleaners". Cleaning should be done after brewing, sanitizing before you perform cold side actions like racking and bottling.