Remote Hydrometer/Thermometer?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Omega

Reaction score
Maybe I was searching it wrongly, but I cannot find a topic about WiFi or Bluetooth remote hydrometers/thermometers. What model would you recommend? And what should I look in features of the hydrometer/thermometer?
I like the idea of having a device in the fermenter and seeing the data how it is fermenting to avoid unnecessary sampling
Many thanks

Last edited:
There are variations on a theme, floating hydrometers that tilt at a different angle depending on the density of the liquid, and use a accelerometer to measure that angle, then report back over bluetooth/wifi:
  • Tilt
  • iSpindel
  • Pill
Loads of info on here and the internet. Google is your friend. A couple of people on here sell pre-built iSpindels.

Thank you. I am new to such equipment and do not know what to look for and where to start :). Is there a comparison of these systems? Because I can see that iSpindel is usually much cheaper than Tilt on eBay, but I do not know anything about Pill

I use a ispindel that was a prebuilt for me..works fine and I prefere it as it it's WIFi not just Bluetooth..
You can use a offset setting to adjust points at start of fermentation based on your manual reading..from there the final measured reading is within a point of my final manual FG reading.
Key point for me is being able to see when fermentation has finished without having to take gravity samples. If my current version stopped working I would buy another Ispindel or Pill as would want to have WiFi capability.