Tart Cider

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yasser

Reaction score
I think a little help is needed and appreciated. 2 years ago we had a go at making cider and I was a complete novice. Saying that, the cider came out perfect, 80 bottles of fizzy and a 5 gallon pressure barrel. Move on 2 years as we missed last year and we're trying to replicate are previous success. The apples weren't as good this year and some were quite small and hard as if not quite ready but they were falling from the tree so were picked before we lost them. surprisingly we got 30 gallons of juice and all mixed evenly and when tasted it seemed just right. Fermentation done we have found the cider very tart. so the question is, is there anything we can do at this stage before it goes into bottles? I have seen a video that says precipitated chalk should be used for sharpness but can this be used post fermentation?

No expert here by my apples are Bramley giving juice typically pH2.8 - 3.0. I like things tart, but do just knock the pH up a bit to 3.4-3.6 with ~3 tsp precipitated chalk per 5L, but I do this at the same time I add tannin and some dextrose to bring up to the SG I want. I then confirm the pH and SG just before I add the yeas.

in suppose you coukd try and adjust the pH post fermentation, but would worry it would send things cloudy/degas - best done at the beginning in my book