The weaker the beer, the longer the sparge.

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bashley

Reaction score
Hi all

I'm on my 2nd Grainfather brew and have just spent 90 mins sparging. This one's a lower grain bill and lower ABV (3.9%) So as a newbie, I was wondering, is it normal that a session beer would take longer to sparge than a higher ABV beer?

If you used the same water:grain ratio in the mash then I guess you’d need more of the weaker sparge runnings to dilute so sparging for longer makes sense at least in theory.

Hi all

I'm on my 2nd Grainfather brew and have just spent 90 mins sparging. This one's a lower grain bill and lower ABV (3.9%) So as a newbie, I was wondering, is it normal that a session beer would take longer to sparge than a higher ABV beer?

Sounds like a "stuck sparge" to me. Most likely the grains are crushed a bit fine for the GF. Did the wort run through OK during the mash or did it keep rising up above the top plate?

I had to lift up the bin and change the top overflow pipe mid mash so maybe that effected the sparge. I used the same grains I used on my first batch and that went ok - so I'm not sure there's a problem with the grain crush. I did have foam rising up over the plate, unlike the first brew I did.

90min is a long time to drain the mash, it was definitely stuck! Plenty of things cause it, too much mixing when adding the grain, too quick lautering/sparging, the pipe is supposed to be only just above the grain so the flow through the bed itself is barely a trickle, more than that and it compacts.

Caveat: I've not used my all in one brewer yet so there might be something I've not considered.