Why do my AG taste like c**p

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Belter

Regular.
Reaction score
My brother and I started brewing a few months back. We did a few coopers kits, a wherry etc. We bought a Buffalo Boiler and all the gear. Bought Graham Wheelers book. Got a 25kg bag of Maris, etc etc. We did a Sierra Nevada Pale ale after recommendation which we used too much liquid on and so it came out a little under ABV. We then did a Wadworth 6X clone the week after which came out bang on OG and FG. Everything went great. Both beers taste like s*&t. Not like they have an infection. Just like terrible beer. Pretty bitter and lacking any real taste. Sort of like drinking the dregs from the fermentation bucket. Perhaps we haven't left them long enough to mature?

They have been in the house for two weeks and the SNPA has been in the garage for one week. The 6X is going into the garage tomorrow. Does Beer really need 4 weeks to mature?

We suffered a little chill haze (need to invest in a plate chiller). They are both drinkable but I don't like them. I wouldn't buy them. My vision was that once you went AG you'd never go back. A bit like cooking your own food. Or baking your own bread compared to off the shelf stuff.

So far I've been thinking about going back to kits. Which is a little depressing really. There must be something simple I'm doing wrong.

I sympathise with your issues - AG really should produce good results. You really need an experienced brewer to taste your beer to let you know what has gone wrong.

Where abouts are you? We might be able to put you in touch with one of the members who can point you in the right direction. :thumb:

Dunfie said:
I sympathise with your issues - AG really should produce good results. You really need an experienced brewer to taste your beer to let you know what has gone wrong.