AG2 English Stout - Help please!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gold

Reaction score
Hi there, just drinking my first AG brew, a very simple, strong and hoppy American IPA. Don't know what you'd call my technique but used a kind of hybrid between a coolbox mash tun and BIAB, using a mashing bag in an unmodified coolbox (student flat means not much in the way of facilities), achieved just under 70% efficiency so can hopefully achieve more this time.

Looking to make a more balanced beer this time and turned towards one of my favourite bottled beers, Wye Valley Dorothy Goodbody's Wholesome Stout. I like how balanced this is, I have read it uses Northdown hence the choice. This is my first attempt at creating a recipe so bear with me, using Hopville Beer Calculus.

Batch Size 10L
Target OG 1.048
Target FG 1.013
79° EBC
36.2 IBU

87% 2.000 Pale Malt (Maris Otter) 70% 5
11% 0.250 Chocolate Malt (UK) 73% 744
2% 0.050 Black Malt 60% 909

boil 60 mins 15 Northdown leaf 6.2
boil 30 mins 10 Northdown leaf 6.2
boil 1 min 10 Northdown leaf 6.2

Any feedback on the recipe would be appreciated, particularly on the balance of the malt. Not looking for extreme flavours but a nice chocolatey flavour.

This is a good basic/first time recipe, but Id tweak it a little.

Grains.
Remove the Black Malt and make up with Chocolate You aint going to taste the Black.
This beer will have a very thin mouthfeel, maybe add 100g of Crystal. As per a 10li brew
Roasted Barley ???
Torrified wheat ? For head retention and mouthfeel
Hops
Traditionally Stout has little to no aroma, so i would personally put all the hops in at the start of the boil and adjust quantities to match your IBU

Yeast ??? SO-4 will do it for me

JMHO Johnnyboy

P.S. Well done for creating your own recipe.

johnnyboy1965 said:
This is a good basic/first time recipe, but Id tweak it a little.

Grains.