Why do people boil DME?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tom Archer.

Reaction score
As a newbie, I'm looking and learning, and some things seem odd.

- DME is manufactured by boiling and spray drying wort. The powder is very readily soluble.

- It seems widely accepted that bacteria don't survive above 165F/75C

But every video on YouTube and every book description of making a starter refers to dissolving the DME and then boiling it, which in a conical flask seems to readily invite boil over.

Why not just dissolve the DME in a pan at around 80C, and then dump it into a sanitised flask? Less electricity, less potential mess..

..but as no-one seems to recommend this, is there a reason?

As a newbie, I'm looking and learning, and some things seem odd.

- DME is manufactured by boiling and spray drying wort. The powder is very readily soluble.

- It seems widely accepted that bacteria don't survive above 165F/75C

But every video on YouTube and every book description of making a starter refers to dissolving the DME and then boiling it, which in a conical flask seems to readily invite boil over.

Why not just dissolve the DME in a pan at around 80C, and then dump it into a sanitised flask? Less electricity, less potential mess..

..but as no-one seems to recommend this, is there a reason?
Could be because of the sugar content, if you want to locate wild yeast the kitchen is the best place to start. Everything needs sugar to survive. I do know that at 80C honey takes 30 minutes to be pasteurised.

I don't boil dme for starters but do get it to 80c and then cool. You can technically keep it at lower temps but for longer time.