Fermenting bucket

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sanctuas69

Reaction score
Hi there,

I have just bought myself a brewferm fermenting bucket with air lock and tap and I was wondering whether I could just pour out the beer (or ale, in this case) into bottles using the tap or whether I have to syphen it out, seperate it out from sediment, go through a secondary fermentation etc. Sorry I am new to this so don't really know. All the videos I have seen seem to complicate this process, maybe for good reason? But with this fermenting bucket with tap it would appear I could just simplify things and bottle it straight after fermentation using the tap. Thanks, Stefan

yes you can bottle/keg direct from the FV when the beers finished.there is no need to put it into a secondary first although some will do this.the beer will clear 2 weeks in the warm and 2 weeks in a cool place and you are good to drink it but it will improve with time and patience

you may want to chock the FV up with a book or something at the opposite end to the tap so you get most of the beer out before going below tap outlet level

yes you can bottle/keg direct from the FV when the beers finished.there is no need to put it into a secondary first although some will do this.the beer will clear 2 weeks in the warm and 2 weeks in a cool place and you are good to drink it but it will improve with time and patience

you may want to chock the FV up with a book or something at the opposite end to the tap so you get most of the beer out before going below tap outlet level

Don't you get a load of sediment out if you tip the fv?

Welcome to the Forum. :thumb: :thumb:

Personally, when bottling a brew, I syphon it into a second vessel (often called a Bottling Bucket but in reality another FV), mix in the carbonation sugar and then bottle from there.