Equipment upgrade

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

carlewarl

Reaction score
Hi All

I'm pretty new to homebrewing have done a couple of extract brews and a few BIAB. I'm pretty happy with my mash and boiling process, but the fermentation and bottling part is not working very well.

I just have a fermenting bin with a tap. In to that goes everything out of my boiling pot. I've got a little bottler that fixes to the tap.

For the last few brews I've had real trouble with bottling. Everything seems to get bunged up with sediment and bits of hops. So I need a better way of doing this, can anyone recommend a good solution?

I'm happy to buy some new bits. I'm thinking about getting another fermenting bin with no tap and doing the fermentation in that. Then getting an auto siphon and siphoning into the bin with the tap, hopefully avoiding sediment and hops. Then bottling using the tap and little bottler. Does that sound reasonable?

When I dry hopped my last brew, most of the hops floated, so how do you avoid the hops when siphoning?

Cheers.

Or the little nylon bags like the ones that come with Festival kits.

If you're going to get another bucket my advice is get one that's exactly big enough to hold your standard brew. Your main FV needs headspace, but if you're going to put it in a second vessel after fermentation has finished you don't need the headspace, and a smaller bucket is easier to store and contains less air to mess with your creation.

I usually make 15L-20L brews. I have a 30L bucket to ferment in but then a couple of 15Ls for when I want to move the beer about, there's enough headspace for when my brews get closer to 20L. I can stack two of the 15L buckets in the same fridge as one 30L which gives more options for experimenting with dry hops, for example.