Brewing belt vs Heat mat

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

SE10PAT

Reaction score
Hi,

I've just ordered my second brew kit and am aiming to get cracking this weekend. An issue I had last time was keeping the brew at a constant temperature, ie being nextr to a radiator that was only on twice a day. Would anyone recommend either a brewing belt to wrap around the fermenting bucket or a heat mat? I'm thinking these things do the same job but i'm new to this so please correct me if i'm wrong.

cheers
Pat

Neither should be used on its own . . . with a thermostat then either work well . . .without a thermostat . . . make Belgian Beers . . . especially Saison

I had the same problem with my 1st brew so found a plastic tub in the garage that could fit my FV, added some water and purchased one of these: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/100W-AQUARIUM...0?pt=UK_Pet_Supplies_Fish&hash=item4155cf1a3e My offer of £7 was accepted.

This has kept the temperature in the FV around 20C for 9 days now (stored in the garage) and the wife happy that shes not sharing the bedroom with 23l of fermenting beer :grin:

I agree with AM on their own brewbekts ferment at too high temperatures as we found out when we first started out. Off tasting beer is the result. An aqurium heater in water then place your fv in the water sounds about the best way. :thumb:

I have a brewbelt and found it fermented at about 24C, far too high.

I'll use it again in the winter but I'll try and kit it out with a thermostat.

I just bought one of those 100W aquarium heaters. The guy doesn't take bids below the £7 mark it seems :)

How deep would I need the water in which I placed the aquarium heater? Would it have to essentially cover at least halfway up the FV?

cheers
Pat