AG Brew #2 - Bitter

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Herb

Reaction score
Being a complete newbie to this, for my second brew, I thought I'd try to do a simple brew with just a few ingredients.

However, after thinking about it some more, I got a bit worried it wouldn't taste of much, so I paid a visit to my local HB shop, and with a little advice from clibit, I picked up a few extra ingredients.

After reading a few different methods and recipes, this is what I went with:

1kg Maris Otter
250g Crystal Malt

10g Fuggles @ Boil Start
5g Goldings @ 15mins
5g Goldings @ 5mins

Irish Moss @ 15min

I really don't have much idea on what I'm doing, so I perhaps went overboard on the Crystal Malt, but we'll see.

Mashed in 4l of water in my Stock Pot at ~65C for one hour. I put all the grains in a small muslin bag, which made things much easier.

I popped the grain bag in a sieve above a 10l tub, and ran the wort back through it. Then put the grains in another 4l of water at 65C for 20 minutes before again draining into the tub.

Boiled the now ~7l of water for 60 minutes, I lost a lot through evaporation, leaving me with 4l of wort.

Into the sink to cool, which took about 40 minutes. Once cool, I passed it back through the sieve and into the demijohn, topped up with some boiled and cooled water to 4.5l.

Original Gravity reading (after the extra 500ml of water) was 1.064.

Pitched the M07 yeast I had, and put into the cupboard to ferment.

You probably have gone a bit overboard with the crystal at 20% of the total grain bill, that's about the most you would want to use. 5% -10% is perhaps a more typical amount, but hey, see what it turns out like. It'll be sweet with a very syrupy mouthfeel. Adjust next time.