a question about OG

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ian...

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to wine making but done some very drinkable WOW variations. I have just put a blueberry/red grape juice wow on and added 1kg gran sugar. I should have added 500g and took a reading and taken it up in steps but neglected to do so through sheer impatience. subsequently, the OG is 1202 which gives an estimated ABV of around 26%!(assuming a reading of around 990).

1. Is this actually possible?
2. Will the sugar overwhelm the yeast and knock it out?
3. Should I add 2 tsps of yeast rather than the usual 1?

Many thanks folks. Great site!

Ian... said:
I'm pretty new to wine making but done some very drinkable WOW variations. I have just put a blueberry/red grape juice wow on and added 1kg gran sugar. I should have added 500g and took a reading and taken it up in steps but neglected to do so through sheer impatience. subsequently, the OG is 1202 which gives an estimated ABV of around 26%!(assuming a reading of around 990).

What were the exact ingredients and brands of what you put in? It sounds very unlikely that you have hit that sort of OG by only adding 1kg of sugar.

What hydrometer do you have? I've never seen a beer/cider/wine one go that high.

Ian... said:

ScottM said:
Ian... said:

What were the exact ingredients and brands of what you put in? It sounds very unlikely that you have hit that sort of OG by only adding 1kg of sugar.

What hydrometer do you have? I've never seen a beer/cider/wine one go that high.
1L of ocean spray blueberry and 1L of Morrisons red grape juice.
The hydrometer is just a bog standard one from a home brew shop and the readings finish at 1200 but my rocket fuel was a bit higher... estimating at the 02.

My previous wows using similar branded ingredients have had OGs of 1120 and 1130 with 850g of sugar so it kind of fits.
Cheers