Advice on silicon sealant / heat mat

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rich1985

Reaction score
Hi there,

So myself and my friend are set up on a chest freezer for our fermentation chamber. In order to ensure the fv fits we need to stop using airlocks and create a blow off tube with siphon cable. Tube fits loosely in the whole so we want to seal it with silicon sealant. Has anyone got a recommendation?

We also want a heat mat for inside the chamber. Has anyone got any advice? Was thinking this to sit on the wooden shelf in the freezer under the fv? Flat can get down to about 8-10 in winter so want something good enough to get it up to 20 degrees. I know lamps are a good option but I'm not very technical so just want something I can feed a cable through the lid.

https://www.balliihoo.co.uk/flexible-heater-pad-30cm-diameter-p-1522.html?awid=gs&gclid=CjwKEAjws-LKBRDCk9v6_cnBgjISJAADkzXek3me_c83DZ1B1jDPKafyRmzyDU48o18eypnfvWaMMBoCFzPw_wcB

Hopefully this is the last technical question I have for a while!

Thanks in advance

Richard

Hi rich,

I would use food safe or aquarium silicone. For my fermentation fridge i used a water bed heat mat. I would not put it directly under the fermentation vessels, put it on the side to only heat up the air around the FV.

Cheers!

Gromit would be ideal but the tubing but doesn't fit in when I leave the gromit in.

..get the right size tubing! The thing is if you seal the tube to the lid with silicone you will have to strip it all out for cleaning and sanitising especially if you get a messy fermentation. What diameter is the hole?

build up a sealing wrap of good ol versitile fod and heatsafe ptfe tape round the tube to form an air tight bung you can seal the void with ;)